Glendambo Publishing — Anthony Bruce

Order | Profile | Home

About The Consequence of Memory

'The Consequence of Memory'.The Consequence of Memory is Anthony Bruce's widely anticipated fifth novel. The story involves a black Kenyan detective who to escape the sanctions of certain highly placed politicians caught corruptly enriching themselves is transferred through the good graces of a relative to the obscurity of a minor post in the Kenyan Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Click here to read a full excerpt.

A white tourist dressed for the city not the bush is found dead on the slopes of the Menengai Crater above the town of Nakuru and Stephen Njoroge is sent to clean up any possible repercussions to the slowly improving tourist industry.

On a winters night in Canada three men who grew to manhood in Northern Rhodesia before that country became the independent republic of Zambia are drawn to the funeral of one of their group. It has been 30 years since they last saw each other and this night they spend the evening reminiscing about their childhood and the way fate and fortune has changed all their lives.

Moving backwards and forwards through time the story inexorably ties together the reason why an unknown man has been found murdered on a lonely hill in Africa. Ex-Detective Stephen Njoroge must fit together scattered pieces of evidence reaching back to a time before he was born without disturbing the status quo and angering those who have long memories.

This is a story of four men and one woman caught in the net of life and time and events they could neither predict nor prevent. A story of honour and courage of deceit and cruelty and the gentle wisdom of a lonely man, a man who refuses to accept the dishonour of lies and corruption and who carries his own secrets and sadness.

A story of past wrongs and present injustices and the travails of history redeemed by acts of kindness.

ISBN: 978-0-9681787-4-4
Format: Hardcover
Price: $24.95

Order The Consequence of Memory from Glendambo Publishing.

Order | Profile | Contact | Guest Book | Home

The East Wind | To Taunt a Wounded Tiger | A Lie to Comfort the Dying | The Gatekeeper of Lies | The Consequence of Memory | To Seek the Wind of Sorrow

Order a book: All of Anthony Bruce's novels are available through the mail on order. Please place your order through our order form and we will contact you with shipping details and charges.